遺囑信托

News

  • Post Date

爭家產這種事,上到富豪,下到老百姓,在現實生活中很常見,打得頭破血流、鬧上法庭的更是多不勝數。其實,只要提前做好遺產規劃,很多糾紛本可以避免。遺囑信托就是一種被廣泛使用的遺產處理方式。所謂遺囑信托,是指通過遺囑這種法律行為而設立的信托,也叫死後信托。具體而言,委托人以立遺囑的方式,說明其去世後財產轉移給受托人,由受托人按照遺囑意願對遺產進行管理、運用和處分。

遺囑信托相較於傳統意義的遺囑而言,有諸多優勢:

 

1.受托人往往具備專業的財富管理能力,遺產在其管理下,實現保值甚至增值的可能性更高,這有助於家族財富的傳承與延續;

 

2.遺產繼承人如果是未成年人,或是不具備完全民事行為能力的人,通過遺囑信托,可避免遺產被他人不當控制使用,從而保障繼承人的利益實現;

 

3.遺囑信托可以根據實際情況,設定靈活的分配條件,避免遺產被繼承人浪費揮霍;

 

4.通過遺囑信托能夠一定程度規避相關稅收,這也是歐美等地區廣泛使用遺囑信托的重要原因。

 

不過,遺囑信托並非十全十美,在執行中也存在一些潛在風險。在遺囑信托執行的監管方面,美國等司法區域,遺囑信托需要經過遺囑檢認法庭的檢認和持續監督,且需向法庭支付監管費用;此外,世事難料,沒人可以預測未來,在遺囑信托在執行過程中,委托人的目的與規劃可能會與受益人的意願產生“沖突”,遺囑信托無法遵循委托人的安排或約束,存在變更與終止風險。

 

遺囑信托雖不完美,但它的優勢也十分明顯。值得一提的是,遺囑信托不像其他信托那樣,為富人所專享,它屬於民事信托,是普通百姓也能使用的身後財產處置工具。近幾十年來,諸如新馬師曾、羅定邦家族遺產紛爭事件,不斷熱鬧上演,令人怵目驚心,總之,遺產規劃應盡早進行,以維持家族的長期團結與和諧。

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Testamentary Trust

News

  • Post Date

It is really common to see in real life that no matter rich or poor people, they contend for family property. Some of them even go to court for fighting who is the winner. In fact, when wealth allocation planning is done well in advance, many disputes could have been avoided. Testamentary trust is a widely used method of wealth allocation management. It refers a trust established through legal acts such as a will, which is also known as post-mortem trust. Normally, the client makes a will to explain that the property will be transferred to the trustee after his death, and the trustee will manage, use and dispose of the estate in accordance with the will.

Compared with the traditional will, testamentary trust has many advantages:

 

1.Trustees often have professional wealth management capabilities. Under their management, the inheritance is more likely to achieve value preservation or even appreciation, which is helpful for the inheritance and continuation of family wealth;

 

2.If the inheritor is a minor or a person who does not have full capacity for civil conduct, the inheritance can be prevented from being improperly controlled and used by others through a will trust. Hence, It can ensure the interest of the heir;

 

3.Testamentary trust can set flexible distribution conditions according to the actual situation, so as to avoid wasted and squandering the property by the heirs;

 

4.The testamentary trust can evade relevant taxes to a certain extent, which is also an important reason why testamentary trusts are widely used in Europe, United States and other regions.

 

However, a testamentary trust is not fully perfect, and there are some potential risks in its execution. Regarding the supervision of the execution of testamentary trust, in jurisdictions such as the United States, trusts need to be subject to the verification and continuous supervision of the probate court, and the supervision fees need to be paid to the court, In addition, the world is unpredictable, no one can predict the future. During the execution of the trust, the purpose and plan of the settlor may “conflict” the wishes of the beneficiary. The testamentary trust cannot follow the settlor’s arrangements or constraints, and there is a risk of change and termination.

 

Although the testamentary trust is not perfect, the advantages of it are very obvious. It is worth mentioning that, unlike other trusts, a testamentary trust is not exclusive to the wealthy. It is a civil trust and is a property disposal tool that ordinary people can use. In recent decades, family heritage disputes such as Sun Ma Sze Tsang and Law Ting Pong have been continuously staged, which is shocking. In short, heritage planning should be carried out as soon as possible to maintain the long-term unity and harmony of the family.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *