中國家族辦公室面對的困難

News

  • Post Date

據福布斯發布的《2020中國家族辦公室白皮書》,近十年間,中國私人財富市場規模增長五倍,高凈值家族數量目前已達158萬個。在龐大的需求刺激下,家族辦公室行業發展迅猛,目前中國的家族辦公室總數在2000-3000家左右。家族辦公室數量雖然不少,但與成熟的歐美市場相比,仍處於起步階段,服務遠未完善,面臨著諸多困難,主要包括人才稀缺、行業缺乏標準、客戶信任度低、成本高盈利難等。

 

1.缺乏人才

 

相對於高凈值人士的數量,相應的家族辦公室專業人才數量遠遠不夠。當前,家辦專業人才主要集中在財富管理領域,而家族事務管理型人才以及“一專多能”的覆合型人才極度不足,短板嚴重,難以真正滿足家族客戶多元化和個性化的需求。

 

2.行業缺乏標準

 

私人財富市場的爆發式增長,吸引各路資本加速入場,搶食蛋糕,有商業銀行創辦家族辦公室的,有信托公司拓展家族辦公室業務的,還有律師事務所成立的家族辦公室……熱鬧非凡的背後,是良莠不齊的亂象。目前市場上很多所謂的家族辦公室,只是換個噱頭售賣自己的金融產品或服務,他們的服務方式,以銷售為導向,註定難以解決家族客戶的真正痛點。遺憾的是,目前沒有監管機構來規範市場,更沒有統一的行業標準,顯然,亂象正在阻礙整個市場的進一步發展。

 

3.客戶信任度低

 

家族辦公室服務是以信任為基礎的,只有雙方互相,才能天長地久。高凈值人士往往熟知社會法則,讓他們把自己的巨額財富交給“陌生人”去長期打理,在當前的法制條件和社會慣例下確實存在一定顧慮與擔憂。而專業人才稀少的問題,以及行業標準的缺失,導致家族辦公室的整體服務水平比較低,沒有真正解決富人的深層次憂慮,也就難以獲得客戶的充分信任。另一方面,信任的建立,需要真誠的日積月累,國內很多家族辦公室成立時間並不長,這也是信任度低的一個因素。

 

4.成本高盈利難

 

在與客戶建立信任的初期,家族辦公室往往只能承接到相對簡單的服務,處於成本的高投入時期,而且家族辦公室的投資周期普遍很長,回報周期也很長,因此,家族辦公室在創立前期需要一定的資本作為支撐。此外,內地高凈值人群還沒有養成支付顧問費或咨詢費的習慣,很多家族辦公室為了生存,很依賴金融產品的售賣,這在一定程度上會導致與客戶的利益沖突。運營成本高、回報慢、盈利難是家族辦公室普遍面臨的難題,很多家族辦公室進場後,不堪重負,最終黯然退場。

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Difficulties faced by Chinese family offices

News

  • Post Date

According to the “2020 China Family Office White Paper” released by Forbes, the size of China’s private wealth market has grown fivefold in the past ten years, and the number of high-net-worth families has now reached 1.58 million. Stimulated by the huge demand, the family office industry is developing rapidly. At present, the total number of family offices in China is around 2000-3000. Although the number of family offices is large, they are still too green when compare with mature European and American markets. The services are far from perfect and they are facing many difficulties, including scarcity of talents, lack of industry standards, low customer trust, high cost and difficulty in profitability, etc.

 

1.Lack of talent

 

Compared with the number of high-net-worth individuals, the number of corresponding family office expert is far from enough. At present, family office experts are mainly concentrated in the field of wealth management, while family affairs management talents and “one specializes, multiple capabilities” integrated talents are extremely insufficient. With serious shortage of talents, it is difficult to truly meet the diversified and personalized needs of customers.

 

2.The industry lacks standards

 

The explosive growth of the private wealth market has attracted capital from all walks of life to entry and grab cakes. Some commercial banks set up family offices, some trust companies expand the business of family offices, and there are many family offices established by law firms. Behind the phenomenon, good and bad are intermingled. Nowadays, many so-called family offices in the market just change their gimmicks to sell their own financial products or services. Their service methods are sales-oriented and destined to be difficult to solve the real pain points of family customers. Unfortunately, there is currently no regulatory agency to regulate the market, and no uniform industry standard. Obviously, chaos is hindering the further development of the entire market.

 

3.Low customer trust

 

Family office services are based on trust. Only when both parties interact can last forever. High-net-worth individuals are often familiar with the laws of society and allow them to give their huge wealth to “strangers” for long-term care. Under the current legal conditions and social norms, there are indeed worried. As the lack of professional talents and industry standards have resulted in the relatively low overall service level of the family office. Without truly solving the deep-seated worries of the rich, it is difficult to gain the full trust from them. On the other hand, the establishment of trust requires sincere accumulation over time. Many family offices in China have not been established for a long time, which is also a factor of low trust.

 

4.High cost and difficult profitability

 

In the initial stage of establishing trust with customers, family offices often can only accept relatively simple services where they are in the period of high investment cost. Moreover, the investment cycle of family offices is generally very long, thus the payback period is also consuming one’s patience. We can see that family offices are in the early stage of establishment that a certain amount of capital is needed as support. In addition, mainland high-net-worth individuals have not developed the habit of paying consulting fees or consulting fees. Many family offices rely heavily on the sale of financial products in order to survive, which will lead to conflicts of interest with customers to a certain extent. High operating costs, slow returns, and difficulty in profitability are common problems faced by family offices. After entering the market, many family offices are overwhelmed and eventually exit the market.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *