傳承失敗的家族

News

  • Post Date

家族企業傳承問題,一直是世界性難題,有許多像洛克菲勒家族這樣的成功典範,也有不少家族企業在風光無限後迅速走向沒落,我們可以從傳承成功的案例中總結經驗,也能在失敗的家族身上汲取教訓。說到傳承失敗的案例,不由想起海鑫鋼鐵集團。

 

1987年初,李海倉集資40萬元,在山西運城聞喜縣創立了海鑫鋼鐵,之後的發展順風順水,逐步成長為山西省第二大鋼鐵企業,也是山西省最大的民營企業。2003年1月22日,厄運突然降臨,李海倉被槍殺於辦公室。當時正在澳洲留學的兒子李兆會不得不中斷留學,受爺爺李春元的主導,成為海鑫鋼鐵的接班人,時年22歲。

對於大學尚未畢業,沒有經受過歷練的李兆會來說,這無疑是個重擔。其實,當時呼聲最高的接班人選,是時任海鑫鋼鐵總經理、李海倉的弟弟——李天虎,以及副董事長辛存海,但李春元 盯牢了直系繼承,趕走了他們。

 

順利接班後的李兆會,對“家業”鋼鐵業務並不感興趣,做起了甩手掌櫃,把目光放在了資本市場,開始從事基金、證券、影視等投資業務,海鑫鋼鐵逐步淪為資本市場業務的“提款機”。此外,李兆會花錢如流水。與女明星車曉舉辦世紀婚禮,豪擲千金,席開500桌,婚車200余輛,場面盛大。不過,這段婚姻僅僅維持了一年零三個月,以李兆會付出3億元賠償告終。最終,海鑫鋼鐵資金鏈斷裂,引發大量債務糾紛,於2014年被法院宣布破產。曾經資產百億的鋼鐵帝國,短短十年就蕩然無存。

 

從李海倉家族的傳承案例來看,如果有家族辦公室的幫助,他們的命運或許會不一樣。這主要體現在三個方面:

 

首先,李家對於家族傳承,缺乏提前規劃。李海倉的突然離世,是海鑫鋼鐵走向覆滅的開始,如果李海倉提前進行家族傳承的規劃,通過家族辦公室建立一套完整的傳承方案,對企業的管理繼承作出安排,當意外來臨,就不會出現群龍無首的混亂局面了。況且李兆會對家業並不感興趣,如果有完整的傳承方案,在專業人士的幫助下,或許在確保海鑫鋼鐵基業長青的同時,也能讓李兆會在自己的興趣領域開拓一片新天地。

 

其次,婚姻出現變故,導致家族財富外流。李兆會沒有婚姻風險意識,婚姻的破裂,讓其損失3億元,如果有家族辦公室的協助,或許會通過家族信托、夫妻財產協議來防範可能存在的婚姻風險。

 

再次,李兆會把個人財產與公司財務混同,以個人名義為企業經營多次提供擔保,最終對公司債務承擔連帶清償責任,導致家財盡失。而家族信托具有資產隔離的功能,可以規避個人財產債務風險,使其不被用作抵債、清算和破產。

 

從李兆先案例可以看出,家族傳承不僅包括企業股權、管理權、現金等財富的傳承,還包括核心價值觀、家風、經營理念等精神財富的傳承,這是一個覆雜的系統體系。這樣一套傳承體系和方案,需要專業人士介入,並依據具體情況,定制化一套完整傳承方案。

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Family with failed inheritance

News

  • Post Date

Family business inheritance has always been a worldwide problem. There are many successful models like the Rockefeller family, and many family businesses have quickly declined after the prosperity. We can sum up the experience from the both success and fail cases of inheritance. Speaking of cases of failure in inheritance, most of the chinese people can’t help thinking of a sad story- Haixin Iron and Steel Group.

 

In early 1987, Li Haicang raised 400,000 yuan to establish Haixin Steel in Wenxi County, Yuncheng, Shanxi. After that, it developed smoothly and gradually grew into the second largest steel company in Shanxi Province and the largest private enterprise in Shanxi Province. On January 22, 2003, bad luck suddenly fell, Li Haicang was shot and killed in his office. At that time, his son Li Zhaohui, who was studying in Australia, had to stop studying Australia. Under the dominance of his grandfather Li Chunyuan, he became the successor of Haixin Steel and he was 22 years old.

For Li Zhaohui, who has not graduated from university and had no experience, this challenge was undoubtedly a heavy burden. In fact, the most popular successors at the time were Li Tianhu who was general manager of Haixin Steel, and Li Haicang’s younger brother, as well as Xin Cunhai, the vice chairman, but Li Chunyuan focused on the direct succession and drove them away.

 

After successfully taking over, Li Zhaohui was not interested in the “family business” steel business. He started as a hands-off shopkeeper and put his eyes on the capital market. He began to engage in investment businesses such as funds, securities, and film and television. Haixin Steel has gradually become a capital market business “Automated Teller Machine”. In addition, Li Zhaohui was a spendthrift. For example, his century wedding was held with the female star Che Xiao, and the scene was grand with 500 tables and more than 200 wedding cars. However, the marriage lasted only one year and three months, and it ended with Li Zhaohui paying 300 million yuan in compensation. In the end, Haixin Steel’s capital chain broke, triggering a large number of debt disputes, and was declared bankrupt by the court in 2014. The iron empire, which once had assets of ten billion, disappeared in just ten years.

 

From the inheritance case of the Li Haicang family, with the help of the family office, their fate might be different. This is mainly reflected in three aspects:

 

First of all, the Li family lacks advance planning for family inheritance. The sudden death of Li Haicang is the beginning of Haixin Steel’s death. If Li Haicang makes plans for family inheritance in advance, establishes a complete inheritance plan through the family office, makes arrangements for the management and inheritance of the enterprise,it will not happen the chaos when an accidents come. Moreover,Li Zhaohui was not interested in the family business. If there was a complete inheritance plan, with the help of professionals, perhaps while ensuring the longevity of Haixin Steel’s foundation, it will also allow Li Zhaohui to open up a new world in his field of interest.

 

Second, the marriage has changed, leading to the outflow of family wealth. Li Zhaohui has no awareness of marital risks. The breakdown of the marriage cost him 300 million yuan. With the assistance of the family office, he might use family trusts and prenuptial agreement to prevent possible marital risks.

 

Third, Li Zhaohui confuses personal property with company finances, provides guarantees for business operations in his own name, and ultimately assumes joint and several liability for the company’s debts, resulting in the loss of family wealth. The family trust has the function of asset isolation, which can avoid personal property debt risks and prevent it from being used for debt repayment, liquidation and bankruptcy.

 

It can be seen from the case of Li Zhaoxian that family inheritance includes not only the inheritance of corporate equity, management rights, cash and other wealth, but also the inheritance of spiritual wealth such as core values, family style, and business philosophy. This is a complex system. Such a set of inheritance system and plan requires the intervention of professionals, and a complete set of inheritance plan is customized according to the specific situation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *