傳承六代的家族

News

  • Post Date

有句俗話說:富不過三代,這並非危言聳聽,有數據顯示,中國家族企業的平均壽命是24年,傳承到第二代的家族企業不到30%,傳承到第三代的不足10 %。不過,在這個世界上,卻有一些古老的家族企業歷經百年時光洗禮而屹立不倒,始終金光閃耀,而家族辦公室正是他們的重要依仗,洛克菲勒家族是其中的典型。

 

1858年,約翰·洛克菲勒開始創業,隨後進入煉油行業,並不斷擴張,最終成為“石油大王”,是人類歷史上第一個億萬富翁。如今,洛克菲勒家族已經傳承至第六代,依舊繁榮昌盛,這期間,他們經歷了兩次世界大戰,以及無數次經濟危機。洛克菲勒家族能夠經久不衰,固然與其優良的家教傳統和財富價值觀有關,但也離不開家族辦公室的助力。

 

1882 年,洛克菲勒建立了世界上第一個家族辦公室,代號“5600 房間”,為家族提供包括投資、信託、法律、會計、家族事務以及慈善等服務,並根據家族成員的特定需求提供不同的投資顧問服務。 1934年,洛克菲勒二世作為委託人,為自己的妻子和六個孩子設立了不可撤銷信託,受益人是妻子和孩子,受託人是洛克菲勒私人信託公司。此外,還設立了信託委員會,負責全權處理信託資產,而家族辦公室負責信託資產的投資。洛克菲勒家族的成員在30歲前可以獲得信託資產投資的分紅收益,但不能動用本金,30歲後可以動用本金,不過要獲得信託委員會的批准。

 

洛克菲勒二世之所以選擇以這樣的方式傳承財富,是因為他認為後輩們不能過於依賴家族的財富,需要多鍛煉他們的獨立自主能力,而且,這樣也可以避免因生意失敗而導致家道中落。對於那些不適合經商,有其他人生追求的家族成員,可以成為單純的受益人,不為家族事業所累,自由選擇自己喜好的生活方式。

 

在洛克菲勒家族的結構中,財富所有權歸私人信託公司,控制權在信託委員會手中,經營權由家族辦公室掌握,家族成員只享受收益權。這樣的架構,讓家族財富始終是一個整體,不會因為外界變化而影響整個家族企業的財富傳承。

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

A family inherits for six generations

News

  • Post Date

There is a saying that the wealth only inherits for three generations. This is not alarmist. Statistics show that the average lifespan of Chinese family businesses is 24 years. Less than 30% of family businesses are passed down to the second generation and less than 10% are passed down to the third generation. However, in this world, there are some ancient family businesses that have survived the baptism of a hundred years, and have always been shining with golden light. The family office is their important support, and the Rockefeller family is a typical example of them.

 

In 1858, John Rockefeller started his own business, then entered the oil refining industry, and continued to expand, eventually becoming the “oil king” and the first billionaire in human history. Today, the Rockefeller family has passed down to the sixth generation and is still prosperous. During this period, they have experienced two world wars as well as numerous economic crises. The Rockefeller family can endure for a long time, not only related to its excellent family education tradition and wealth values, but also inseparable from the help of the family office.

 

In 1882, Rockefeller established the world’s first family office, called “Room 5600”, which provides services to the family including investment, trust, law, accounting, family affairs, charity, and provides different investments according to the specific needs of family members Consultancy services. In 1934, Rockefeller II, as the settlor, established an irrevocable trust for his wife and six children. The beneficiaries were his wife and children, and the trustee was Rockefeller Private Trust Company. In addition, a trust committee has been established to handle the trust assets, while the family office is responsible for the investment of trust assets. Members of the Rockefeller family can receive dividend income from trust asset investment before the age of 30, but cannot use the principal. After the age of 30, they can use the principal, but they must obtain the approval of the trust committee.

 

The reason why Rockefeller II chose to pass on wealth in this way was because he believed that younger generations should not rely too much on the wealth of the family and need to exercise their independence and autonomy. Moreover, this can also avoid the failure of the family due to business failure. For those family members who are not suitable for business and have other pursuits in life, they can become simple beneficiaries, not being burdened by the family business, and freely choosing their own favorite lifestyle.

 

In the structure of the Rockefeller family, the ownership of wealth belongs to the private trust company, the control is in the hands of the trust committee, the management power is controlled by the family office, and family members only enjoy the right to income. With this structure, the family wealth is always a whole, and the wealth inheritance of the entire family business will not be affected by changes in the outside world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *